An alternative forum for tech discussion?

Well, after being banned from the Guardian’s commenting system on Friday I decided to write a blog explaining some of the background to what had happened and linking to it in the Boot Up column. You can find it here:

http://beardyweirdy666.wordpress.com/2013/09/20/being-banned/

 This was only really intended as an explanation for my disappearance to the regular community on the daily column and I’d fully intended it to be a one off farewell message.

However, I was both surprised and touched by the number of messages of both support and shared frustration from other regular members. A conversation of sorts started in the comments thread, which led to the idea of hosting a parallel discussion forum.

I have no experience of doing anything similar, and in fact the blog above is the first one I’d ever written, but it sounds like it’s an idea worth trying out.

I’ve set up a different blog site under the name “Booted Out” (a great suggestion from @TehGreatGonzo). Although, you’ve probably already realised this as if you’re reading this post!

I’m going to propose the following as a starting point, but would welcome suggestions in the comments on the following points:

1. I don’t have much time free to do lots of site management, nor would I want it to turn into ‘my’ site (power corrupts and all that). I’d like to give shared admin rights to a handful of people who can share the management of the blog and ensure it doesn’t turn into a fiefdom. I’ve had offers of help from @TehGreatGonzo; @MrBeardy and @StephenJPC, all of whom I feel I know well enough from BootUp to trust. Are you happy to take shared admin responsibilities? Anybody else care to volunteer too? Or is there a better way of managing multiple posters and shared administration (approving new accounts, moderating etc). @ClarkeViper indicated that he’d done something similar with some football commenters. If you’re reading this Clarke/Micky, then any advice would be much appreciated.

2. For this to be a viable place of discussion, I’d suggest that we probably need at least 8-10  people commenting reasonably regularly, preferably a few more. I’d suggest keeping things very simple for a period of a few weeks to see if we can both build and sustain enough regulars to make it worthwhile. If we don’t have many regulars after a month, then we should probably bow out gracefully, knowing that we at least tried.

3. What do we post? A daily link to Boot Up and a simple parallel discussion column, with extra links etc? Or wider blogs from individuals (ie generating new content)? 

4. Moderation policy. If it works, I anticipate this being a primarily a place for the usual bunch of regulars from Boot Up which is generally intelligent, grown up discussion. Should we restrict it only to those posters we recognise? Perhaps keep it open for a period, and if it works (ie we get enough members), turn it into a closed/private blog. I don’t want to read flame wars, personal attacks, spam or anything libellous. However, nor do I want to see a heavy handed moderation approach. I’d rather flamers and trolls were just ignored, but left to write what they want. But I’d prefer to moderate anything that tends towards a personal attack or anything libellous.

5. Promoting the blog. How do we draw attention to this blog and encourage participation from other Boot Up regulars without risking people being put onto pre-mod or being banned? A few of you kindly employed some great guerilla advertising on Friday, but I don’t know how long you’ll get away with that for and don’t want to cause problems for anybody.

6. Design, improvements etc – I think there’s plenty more that could be done to improve this blog if it takes off and I’d welcome support from people to help with this eventually. However, I’d suggest that we see how things pan out for a while first as it may all amount to nothing.

Finally, I’d just like to say thankyou to all of you who commented on the original blog post. Whether or not you choose to engage with this parallel discussion forum in whatever form, your words of support helped restore my faith in people. If this works then I’ll be very happy, but even if it doesn’t, the comments I received on Friday are enough for me.

I’m going to email everybody who commented on the original post to draw their attention to this one. Don’t worry, I won’t start to spam you – it will just be a one off and I’ll leave you alone after that.

So, comment away. Please!

 

—————–

Update 20:30 GMT, Mon 23rd Sept 2013:

Thanks for all the comments so far. Sorry, I’ve been v.busy at work today, and am likely to be similarly encumbered all week so haven’t had the chance to join in the discussion. Not the ideal timing to start an exercise like this, but it all came about very suddenly and a lot’s happened since last Friday.

Taking the comments and suggestions received so far on board I’ve made a couple of changes:

  •  Added a visible email address on the ‘About’ page (thanks StephenJPC)
  •  Enabled ‘Like’ and ‘Dislike’ buttons for comments (thumbs up/thumbs down)
  •  Invited Gonzo to be a co-admin (as per his kind offer in the comments). If anybody else would like to join us please let me know.
  •  Added ‘Don’t worry, it’s very good!’ to the tagline (thanks TehGreatGonzo)
  •  Increased the levels of nesting for comments (something weird was happening beyond 3 levels – not sure if this only applies to future posts though)

It sounds like the consensus is to aim towards original content, longer posts, reviews etc from us (there are a few different ‘roles’ available on the blog, so we could choose to set everybody up as a contributor (able to add new posts), whilst keeping admin to a manageable handful?

To get us started, I think it probably makes sense to continue along the lines of today – a daily link to BootUp with additional links (aiming to be broader in focus than on BootUp – ie not just concentrating on phones; market share and favoured ‘analysts’) taken from the previous day’s comments and others harvested from elsewhere.

If anybody would like to write additional longer posts/blogs/reviews etc on here, then let me know and I’ll add you as a contributor. Or should we just do this for everybody who’s commented so far?

The suggestion from KPerson to do this via a forum/messageboard is an interesting one, and one that I’d pondered myself. For simplicity’s sake, and as we’ve managed to get a few people visiting here already, I’m going to suggest that we stick with this format for the time being, and if it starts to take off and we have some regulars, then we could consider moving across at a later point.

We’ll keep moderation light of touch and encourage self policing. Let’s all try to remain calm, and just not feed trolls if they arrive. We’ll reserve censoring/banning for real flamers, libellous or personal attacks.

Let’s hope this works out!

21 thoughts on “An alternative forum for tech discussion?

  1. MrBeardy13

    I think simply limiting ourselves to the Bootup links wouldn’t be much fun, the alternative links provided BTL are often much more varied. Possibly run parallel daily posts, one from the graun and one other set of links provided by our own group? Personal blog posts may not be a bad idea,
    as everyone seems to have different tastes & needs about their hardware/software, or if someone gets something new they could share their experiences.

    I also think allowing commenters to users beyond known individuals would be beneficial. Posts deemed inappropriate could be deleted after the fact, I can’t imagine things would get bad if we all understand to remember we are all adults and its not the playground. Maybe I’m being optimistic about my fellow man 😉

    Reply
  2. MrBeardy13

    I think simply limiting ourselves to the Bootup links wouldn’t be much fun, the alternative links provided BTL are often much more varied. Possibly run parallel daily posts, one from the graun and one other set of links provided by our own group? Personal posts may not be a bad idea, reviews or tips n tricks would be good & allow more than just bitching 😉

    I also think allowing commenters to users beyond known individuals would be beneficial. We could then remove posts deemed inappropriate after the fact, I can’t imagine things would get bad if we all understand to remember we are all adults and its not the playground. Maybe I’m being optimistic about my fellow man!

    Reply
  3. StephenJPC

    I have to say I prefer the idea of original content; including alternative lists of links.

    It’d be hard to maintain any sort of momentum in a private blog, so I would prefer a public blog. Blogs build visitors through links, and there’s a general courtesy among bloggers that if you link to them they will return the favour. So once things are up and running it’s important to seek out interesting tech blogs, leave a comment and let them know you’ve linked to them. I’ve linked back here, and to your original blog, to get you started.

    It’s also important that your blog is visible on Google (and to a lesser extent Bing and Yahoo). The process is pretty simple.

    I’ve seen many blogs start and then die as soon as the first enthusiasm fades. Building visitor numbers takes time. I suspect you’d be best starting with posts once or twice a week on fixed days rather than trying to get something up every day. Maybe there are others who are happy to contribute a post weekly or fortnightly? It wouldn’t feel like too major a commitment then and would spread the load.

    It’s important to have an email displayed on the blog that can be used for contacting admin, in case anyone wants to complain about any content or comments. If you don’t have that they can complain to wordpress and you find your blog pulled without notice.

    Reply
    1. beardyweirdy666 Post author

      Thanks Stephen. Again, good points. I suppose I hadn’t really thought of this exercise as ‘my blog’, or even necessarily a blog (in the traditional sense) at all. More of a shared resource for the same group of people to be able to chat more freely and without heavy handed moderation. I like the idea of people writing reviews or putting up thoughts/topics for discussion and would like to engage in that sort of community. I’m not sure I’ve personally got either (a) enough things worth saying or (even if I did) (b) the time to write them up, to sustain a blog of my own.

      Reply
  4. Cuse

    I’m with everything said above. The aim is to be independent, but commenting here on BootUp would be some fun! I for one will be keeping off Boot Up as of tomorrow. I can’t be doing with the fact I’ve been on pre-mod for a week now – and get the distinct impression someone is laughing at the fact we moan but are boosting click rates!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Booted Out – Monday 23rd September | Booted Out

  6. TehGreatGonzo

    Just to whip through the various points pretty quickly as I’m a bit busy atm:

    1) Yep, happy to help admin. We could maybe take it in turns to post the links each morning on a weekly rota, and then during the day anyone that needs to step in can do, leading to…

    4) I favour the “light touch” in message board moderation and economic governance. Ahem. Where discussion gets derailed by flame wars or personal insults (Hello ZD Net!) then moderate away but if people want to make asses of themselves through comments then I’m generally happy enough to let them.

    3) We always moaned that Boot Up was too narrow in focus so I’d be inclined to include other links from around the web as well. I don’t think it would take too long for someone to flick through Feedly or Pulse and grab the link to anything interesting looking. Also, if anyone wants to write guest pieces with their thoughts on something then I don’t see any reason why we shouldn’t publish that too.

    5) I think StephenJPC covered everything here, just requires people to put the spade work in.

    6) Add “Don’t worry, it’s very good” as a second sentance to the “A refuge for the unloved current and former members of the Guardian’s Boot Up column” byline.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Booted Out – Tuesday 24th September 2013 | Booted Out

  8. rory kenneally

    dunno if its just me but trying to reply on my phone is a bit off. it works if you reply under a comment but not from the reply box at the bottom, the details field doesn´t appear

    Reply
    1. beardyweirdy666 Post author

      Are you doing it via the app or the browser? Which platform/browser are you using?
      Overall I’m impressed at the ease of setting and up and getting going with WordPress, but (and perhaps it’s worse because I’m the administrator) I find the number of different UIs and views rather confusing. I’m never quite sure what view I’m going to end up with. Throw the mobile version or the app into the mix and it all becomes a bit of a jumble.

      Reply
      1. rory kenneally

        stock browser, htc one. like i said not a biggie as you can always leave a reply to someone else just not at the bottom

        Reply
        1. beardyweirdy666 Post author

          The app’s pretty good – it might be worth giving it a go? It separates out the comments view from the post view, and allows you to open comments individually and then reply in-line. If you change views to see them together though, it just kicks you back out to the browser.

          Reply

Leave a comment